Workast Help Center

Search for answers to your questions by entering keywords below, or look through our knowledge base.

How to turn on or off task creation messages in Slack channels when a task is created in Workast (web app)

Normally, when you create a in a Slack channel, a task creation message appears in that channel like this:

However, if you create the task in the space in the Workast web app, you normally don't get that task creation message.

If you want to get that message in the corresponding Slack channel when you create a task in the web app, you can change the setting in the space.  Here's how:

  • Click on the app button (grid icon) in the top right side of your space.  Click on it, then click on "Slack."
  • Click on "Settings."
  • A pop-up will open with the space notification settings. Click the box next to "Share created tasks" to turn on the setting.  (Or if it's on, click it to turn it off.)  A red check mark indicates the setting is turned on, while a white empty box means the setting is off.
  • Click "Save" to save your setting.  
  • Please note that this setting will need to be adjust for each space individually.

Please note - due the the privacy regulations in place for private spaces in Slack, created tasks notifications will only be sent in private channels/direct messages when the Workast application has been active in the channel within the past 30 minutes.

If you want to learn how to turn off completed task notifications, click here.

If you want to learn how to customize or turn off your personal notifications, click here.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments