Workast Help Center

Search for answers to your questions by entering keywords below, or look through our knowledge base.

How to change your department within your Workast team

Workast allows teams to have separate departments within your larger organization.  You can have have an admin for your department, as well as upgrade just your department's Workast plan.

To view your department, click on your avatar in the web app, then select "Preferences."

Desktop

Your department will be visible under the About Me section.  

Desktop

Note - teams on older/grandfathered plans may not see a department listed.

To change departments, click on the arrow next to the department name.  You can choose from another existing department, or create a new department.

Desktop

If you want to change to an existing department, click on that department name.  The admin(s) for that team will receive an email about the user change, however we strongly recommend that there be internal communication within your team before changing departments as it may result in changes in subscription fees.  For information on our plans, click here.

If you want to create a new department, click "Create new department."  A dialogue box will open to allow you to enter the new department information.

Desktop

Enter the department name and invite team members from your Workast or Slack team if you wish, then click "Create" to create your new department.

New departments are automatically placed on the Essential (free) plan and you will have to fully upgrade your department to one of our Premium plans to regain Premium status if you had a paid subscription previously.  Previous billing information will not be saved.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments